Header Image -

Shannon

Tuesday, November 03

by Shannon 0 Comments
Tuesday, November 03

Good morning, book friends! Today I have two @owlcratejr unboxings for you🙌 The unboxing for the Limited Edition Hollowpox box is up in my stories, and this one here is for the October EPIC QUESTS box💙

Let’s get into all the goodies!
⛰First up we have a matching sketchbook and tin pencil case filled with drawing pencils designed by Maya McKibbin. This set is so pretty and will come in handy for the map drawing contest Owlcrate Jr. has going on now! I’ll share info on that with you in my stories today as well😊
🏔An adorable and stylish Narnia inspired map bandana designed by Erin Gibbs.
⛰The big and so cute Golden Compass inspired water bottle designed by Janine Lacour will help keep you hydrated.
🏔A gorgeous and silly dragon pin inspired by The Hobbit and designed by Forensics and Flowers. Y’all know I love dragons, so this pin is mine and not the kids!!🤫
⛰The November sticker artist is Ellen Surrey. Her design really makes you want to set off on an adventure!
🏔Finally, the book of the month is The Barren Grounds by David A. Robertson. It’s an exclusive edition that has a slightly different cover, signed bookplate, and it even came with temporary tattoos – the kids loved that!

I cannot say enough good things about OwlCrate Jr! Their boxes are full of so much magic, and the items they choose are a mix of fun and practical. Seriously if you haven’t tried this box yet – it’s time💙 The theme for November is HOME SWEET HOME🏡 You can use the code BYTHESEA15 to save 15% off your first box!

QOTD: You’re going on an epic quest! What book character do you want by your side? I would want Abraxos. He’s sweet, intimidating when necessary, and I could ride on his back to get around faster.

8 views

Sunday, November 01

by Shannon 0 Comments
Sunday, November 01

Good morning, book friends! I hope those of you that celebrate Halloween had a safe and fun night. The Halloween at my house was a success🙌 We watched Frankenweenie, Hocus Pocus, and Ichabod & Mister Toad. We also participated in the Animal Crossing festivities, and the kids did a ghost hunt in the backyard to get their candy. I’m so happy that they didn’t get upset about not being able to go out trick or treating. My son even said it was his favorite Halloween ever! He must be a little homebody like me and my husband😊

🏡 Speaking of being a homebody, the theme for the @owlcratejr November box is “Home Sweet Home”. This box will be perfect for fans of Goldeline, The Wizards of Once, and The Peculiar series. The book of the month is a suspenseful fantasy tale all about family, dark magic, and the meaning of home. Sounds amazing, right?! Y’all do not want to miss out. November boxes are available now, and you can use the code BYTHESEA15 to save 15%😊

QOTD: I’m always curious to know if the whole world participates in daylight savings or not – so, did you fall back and gain an hour last night like I did? Extra question, what did you do to celebrate Halloween?

8 views

Friday, October 30

by Shannon 0 Comments
Friday, October 30

Happy Friday, book friends! Do you ever get the photo you want to post for the day and then realize afterwards that you have been posting the last few photos with that same angle? I must think crooked things are pretty🤷🏻‍♀️

Anyways, I have been reading Nevermoor to my kids for the last week or so in preparation for the OwlCrate Jr. Limited Edition Hollowpox Box. This book and now series has been on my radar since it first released, but I kept putting it off for when my kids were old enough to really understand and enjoy it with me. They are definitely old enough now, and we are having a blast reading it. Nevermoor is so whimsical, and kind of reminds me of Furthermore and Alice in Wonderland but better. Plus, there’s supposed to be a tournament of some kind in this book, and ever since Goblet of Fire I’m a sucker for them and so is my son😊

Aren’t all the candles today so pretty? Not only do the colors match the book, but I chose them because their scent names kind of go along with the spooky season. The big purple one is Hocus Pocus from the Salty and Lit shop. You can use my code Reads10 to save 10% off🙌 The other two candles are Mors Vincit Omnia and Mistress of Evil from Wicks by Pearl🖤 I don’t have a code for that shop, but she has a bunch of amazing so grab a code from one of them.

1 view

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

by Shannon 0 Comments
Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Kingdom of the Wicked is the newest release by Kerri Maniscalco, and if you loved her first series Stalking Jack the Ripper you’ll most definitely love this one, too. Again like SJTR it’s a historical fiction murder mystery with a potential love interest that is both gentlemanly and a little suspicious. Even though deep down I knew he was an actually good “bad guy” or demon – my favorite type of man. Then we have our main character, Emilia. At the beginning of the book she’s such a gentle and sweet little witch, helping her Sicilian family cook delicious sounding meals in their restaurant, but things change when her twin sister is found murdered (not a spoiler BTW it’s in the synopsis). From that point on Emilia is determined to do anything she can to have vengeance, including going against all she’s learned from her grandmother and summoning demons.

3 views

Saturday, October 24

by Shannon 0 Comments
Saturday, October 24

Good morning, book friends! Who are your favorite witches? I make it no secret that I love Lou from Serpent & Dove, but I’m not sure if I’ve shared my appreciation for Manon on here before. Manon, Dorian, and Abraxos are the only reasons I kept reading the ToG series. I’m just not a fan of Aelin and Rowan🙈 Anyways, now that the majority of y’all think I’m crazy let’s move on. I loved seeing Manon’s emotional growth through the series. She goes from ruthless and cruel to understanding that she doesn’t have to be that way and can absolutely love and be loved🖤

Something that I love is this Manon candle from Salty and Lit! As soon as I saw the scent combo of dark chocolate, raspberry, and coconut I knew I had to try it. Y’all, it smells just like my favorite flavor of ice cream🙌 Salty and Lit never disappoints!! Check out the shop and use the code Reads10 to save 10% off😊

1 view

Thursday, October 22

by Shannon 0 Comments
Thursday, October 22

Good morning, book friends? What are your Halloween plans for this year? I hate to say it, but my kids and I won’t be going door to door trick or treating this year. It’s just not worth the risk. Instead we’ll be staying in dressed up in some fleece pajama onesies that look like costumes (it’s still way too hot, but my husband will do his duty and crank up the AC). We’ll also eat loads of candy, and marathon Halloween movies. Who knows maybe the kids will love it more!

What they really enjoyed though was getting dressed up in their costumes from last year to get a few shots of the Frightlopedia book and zombie tote from their September OwlCrate Jr. box. The Frightlopedia is a big hit with my son who loves all things creepy, and the zombie tote will be so useful for library runs and could even be used to go trick or treating next year🧡

Don’t forget that the @owlcratejr photo challenge is going on now. Use the hashtag for a chance to win a free box!🙌
Also, November’s “Home Sweet Home” box is now available to order. You you can use my code BYTHESEA15 to save 15%.

0 views

Tuesday, October 20

by Shannon 0 Comments
Tuesday, October 20

Good morning, book friends! Now that I’ve finished Among the Beasts & Briars it is time to get back into the season with a spooky book. I have two that I want to get in before the end of the month, an arc of Kingdom of the Wicked and this beauty from my September @owlcrate box, Horrid. Horrid’s cover is just so intriguing and I know that Kingdom of the Wicked has to be something amazing because Kerri Maniscalco wrote it. I don’t know how I’ll pull it off because there’s also loads of Halloween movies to watch, but I’m going to try my best because as soon as Halloween is over I’m switching gears and will start to be holly jolly❤️

The month is flying by, do you have any spooky reads you’re trying to fit in? What are you currently reading?

1 view

Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston

by Shannon 0 Comments
Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston

Good morning, book friends! I just finished Among the Beasts & Briars by @_ashposton and OMG you guys, it’s GOOD! Like one of my favorite books ever good! The writing is gorgeous and so atmospheric without distracting you from the plot. Plus, it has every element I love in stories-magic, a dark forbidden wood, animal companions, and love. It was just so enchanting🧡 Trust me when I say that if you love fairytales you are going to want to read this book! Among the Beasts and Briars releases tomorrow, so you can dive right into this magical story very soon🙌

Who are some of your favorite animal companions? I feel like I’ve asked this before, but since I just got two new favorites, Fox and Vala, you may have some new ones for me, too😊

Thank you to @netgalley and @balzerandbray for providing me with an e-arc copy of Among the Beasts and Briars for review.

And finally, I of course had to picture this beautiful book featuring a sly and hilarious fox with my equally beautiful fox booksleeve from @enchantedextras 🦊 You can use my code SEA15 to save 15% off everything in the shop.

3 views

Thursday, October 15

by Shannon 0 Comments
Thursday, October 15

Good morning, book friends! Since it’s spooky season I thought I’d share a few books I think are perfect for this time of year. House of Salt and Sorrows gave me that uneasy feeling, The Wicked Deep is so atmospheric, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is one I still think about all the time- it’s a really unique vampire story, and My Plain Jane is just a fun ghosty twist on Jane Eyre.

What are some of your favorite spooky reads? Are you reading any right now?

The book I’m currently reading is an arc of Among the Beasts and Briars and while it’s not getting me in the Halloween spirit it is giving me those cozy fall vibes. Next up I hope to get in both Kingdom of the Wicked and Horrid, but this month is flying by so we’ll see.

1 view

Tuesday, October 13

by Shannon 0 Comments
Tuesday, October 13

Good morning, book friends! Last week my kids and I finished reading the @owlcratejr September book of the month, The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf. You guys, we were all blown away!! This book was terrifying at times, but it was also so sweet. It’s about feeling alone in the world, first friendships, and a ghost you love, but will also hate. Plus, the writing is absolutely beautiful and it will hook you right from the start. I seriously wanted to just read ahead without my kids, but I’m so glad I didn’t because it was such a unique experience to have these strong emotions at the same time as my kids. My almost 9 year old son was so moved by the ending that he cried. This is the first book that has ever brought him that type of emotion, and it wasn’t a bad thing at all. I think he’ll remember this story for the rest of his life💜

If you are still looking for the perfect spooky season read I highly recommend The Girl and the Ghost. We all gave this one 5 glorious ⭐️s!

What’s a book that has brought you to tears? This one almost did, but as a momma I was more concerned in the moment of giving snugs and love to my little one who’s heart was a bit hurt. A book that majorly made me cry was A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

The theme for October’s OwlCrate Jr. is Epic Quests, and the book of the month is the first in a new portal fantasy series! Y’all can use my code BYTHESEA15 to save 15% off your first @owlcratejr box.

0 views