Header Image -

Sunday, October 11

by Shannon 0 Comments
Sunday, October 11

Good morning, book friends! It’s been rainy down here the last few days, so it looks like my earlier plans of going to the pumpkin patch will have to wait. Instead last night we made Halloween gingerbread cookies, and today it’s going to be a Halloween movie marathon kind of day.

What’s your favorite Halloween time movie?

I love The Nightmare Before Christmas, Halloweentown, Twitches, The Corpse Bride, Casper, Room on the Broom, and of course HOCUS POCUS!!

So, I had just placed a fall candle order from Salty and Lit shop when they released their Hocus Pocus and Black Flame Candle collection. Without question I pulled my wallet out so fast!! These candles not only look gorgeous, but they smell amazing, too!! Today I have the Black Flame Candle pictured, and it smells like spiced honey, pumpkin, and clove. The perfect scents to complement a fall movie night. I’ll just have to get one of the kids to light it for me🧡 You guys can use the code Reads10 to save 10% off in the Salty and Lit shop! The magnet also pictured is still available🙌 Also, be sure to check out the Heroes and Villains box cause I got a little sneak peek and OMG!!! It’s gonna be epic!

1 view

Wednesday, October 07

by Shannon 0 Comments
Wednesday, October 07

Good morning, book friends! One of my favorite things to do when I’m not feeling very creative is to spell out a word with book titles. Bonus points if the books go along with what I’m spelling, but that’s not the case today. I spelled out the word GHOST because it’s almost Halloween, but I’m a big ol’ baby so I don’t read many ghost stories. I guess I could have used Harry Potter because of Nearly Headless Nick, but I’m still not thrilled with she who should not be named.

When you’re worn out from life and not feeling very creative what do you do to get those juices flowing again?

1 view

Monday, October 05

by Shannon 0 Comments
Monday, October 05

Good morning, book friends! Let’s kick off the October spooky season with an @owlcratejr unboxing🧡 The theme for September was SHIVERS DOWN YOUR SPINE, and boy, oh boy was this a fantastic box! My kids and I love every item, especially this month’s book and the card game😊

🕷 Nightmare Before Christmas “Something Wild” card game by Funko
🕷 Roll of Spooky washi tape designed by Lou Lou & Tummie
🕷 Frightlopedia an A to Z Guide to all things creepy, thrilling, and chilling by Workman Press
🕷 Zombie tote bag
🕷The Girl and The Ghost by Hanna Alkaf
🕷This month’s collectible sticker was designed by Andre Kolb and features an adorable bookworm witch

The theme for October’s box is EPIC QUESTS. Fans of The Hobbit, Narnia, and Phillip Pullman will not want to miss out!! Use my code BYTHESEA15 to save 15% off your first OwlCrate Jr. box🧡

Let’s send some shivers down your spine with a spooky this or that

zombie apocalypse or alien invasion

haunted hayride or haunted house

werewolf or vampire

walk through cobwebs or a graveyard at night
I’d have to go with aliens, haunted hayride, vampires, and walk through a graveyard

0 views

Thursday, October 01

by Shannon 0 Comments
Thursday, October 01

Good morning, book friends! If you came across a portal to another land would you go through? I’ve always loved the idea of visiting some new whimsical land, so I would most definitely take my chances if the opportunity presented itself to me.

The @owlcratejr October box, EPIC QUESTS is now available for purchase or subscription. The book of the month is the first in a new portal fantasy series inspired by traditional Indigenous stories, and it’s an own voices story!! This box is perfect for fans of The Hobbit, Narnia, and Phillip Pullman. You can use my code BYTHESEA15 to save 15% off your first Owlcrate Jr. box🧡

6 views

Wednesday, September 30

by Shannon 0 Comments
Wednesday, September 30

Good morning, book friends! It’s hard to believe we’re already at the end of September. I know I say this every month, but I feel like I didn’t get much reading in – which isn’t exactly the truth because I read the same amount of books I do every other month. My mind just likes to think I have more time for reading than I actually do. Anyway, here’s the books I read in September and their ratings:
Blood & Honey-3.5/4⭐️
Fatal Throne-4⭐️
Matilda-4⭐️
Gravemaidens-2/2.5⭐️

What’s the first book you plan on reading in October?

So, I know I said my big chunky books would have to wait until next year, but Midnight Sun was calling my name. I mean I have the most adorable extra-large fall animal book sleeve from @enchantedextras that needed to be used during the fall season, so it’s totally worth the risk of me feeling disappointed when I only read 3 or 4 books again in October😂 If you like to dress your books up for each season like me check out @enchantedextas because she has sleeves for every season and fandom! Also, you use the code SEA15 to save 15%.

The Cullen candle is from Salty and Lit. You can use the code Reads10 to save 10% to get your own. Also, I just got a new order in and y’all they’re all amazing!! I’ll have an unboxing up in my story later today.

1 view

Warmaidens by Kelly Coon

by Shannon 0 Comments
Warmaidens by Kelly Coon

Warmaidens by Kelly Coon does not have the same feel as its predecessor, Gravemaidens, while at the same time it has basically the same premise – to get an evil ruler off the throne of Alu. This story is very repetitive, lacks communication between the characters, and there’s little to no character growth.

Throughout the story Kammani and her friends are trying to get the ruler of Alu off the throne before Manzazu’s queen can start a war, but every plan they make has such a lack of communication that they fail over and over again, and instead of learning from their mistakes and trying to work together they continually end up hurting each other and their cause.

10 views

Dark Fae Cursed by Heather Renee

by Shannon 0 Comments
Dark Fae Cursed by Heather Renee

Good morning, book friends and happy book birthday to Dark Fae Cursed by @heather.renee.author 💜💜 Y’all, this book sounds so awesome. The synopsis sounds a bit like The Cruel Prince, but with Jude staying in the human world. Plus, I hear it has a slow burn, opposites attract romance, and kickass side characters. Plus Fae! What’s not to love?!!

Who are some of your favorite side characters?

1 view

Thursday, September 24

by Shannon 0 Comments
Thursday, September 24

Good morning, book friends! I don’t want to be a broken record, but yet here I am telling y’all again that life has been bananas this week. I have tried numerous times to read and to hop on bookstagram to interact with all of you, but every time I sit down to do something for myself I get pulled away to help my kids with their schoolwork. They are in the middle of switching to new teachers, so I’m hoping things calm down soon. The way it’s looking though I may just have to change up my routine and instead of telling y’all good morning it may be good evening. We’ll see. Just know I’m not leaving you guys and I’m trying😊

Just like I’m promising all of you that I’m trying my best, I have to tell my books the same thing. My TBR bookshelf is full and I know it’s giving me the side eye every time I walk past. There’s some chunks on there that can just keep on waiting, but I also have books that if these were normal times I could read them in a day or two. These are the ones I’m hoping to get to before the end of the year. It just might take me a week to read them instead of a couple of days.

What books are you hoping to read before the year ends?

0 views

Monday, September 21

by Shannon 0 Comments
Monday, September 21

Hey there, book friends! What are you currently reading? I have had next to no time to read for myself this past week, but I’m trying to get in Warmaidens. I did manage to finish Matilda with my kids though. Small victories!

I’d never read Matilda or watched the full movie, so I was so surprised to learn that Matilda isn’t actually a witch!! Why in the world did I think she was a witch?! Anyway, I enjoyed the story just like every other Roald Dahl book we’ve read so far. Now to decide what to read next😊

0 views

Friday, September 18

by Shannon 0 Comments
Friday, September 18

Happy Friday, book friends! Do you ever buy whole series without having read the first book? What series? I don’t do it a lot, but I am definitely guilty of this. It usually happens when I see a book I’ve heard a bit about in the clearance section at Books-A-Million. What can I say, I’m a sucker for a good deal.

Anyway, that’s what happened with this series. I first saw And I Darken in the sale section, and having read a few of Kiersten White’s books and seeing it all over Booktube I decided why not get it. I really had every intention of reading it before the next book, Now I Rise, became available, but that didn’t happen. I did snag the it when it showed up in the clearance section though🤷🏻‍♀️ By the time the 3rd book, Bright We Burn, was released I was tempted to pay full price, but still hadn’t read those first two books. Ugh, I’m ridiculous. Well, a few weeks ago when I went to buy Midnight Sun I checked the sale section and lo and behold the 3rd book was available. So now I have the complete series! I really hope I like it. Otherwise I’m a fool🙈 Fingers crossed!

0 views